ELLEN JOHNSON SIRLEAF

Search
Close this search box.
hadiza-bala-usman-square

Hadiza Bala Usman

Auteure, activiste, ancienne fonctionnaire et militante
Nigeria

Hadiza Bala Usman est l’ancienne directrice générale de la Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) et a passé de nombreuses années au service de son pays au congrès et dans de nombreux rôles de service public.

Avant sa nomination en tant que première femme directrice générale du NPA en 63 ans d’existence, Hadiza travaillait au Bureau des entreprises publiques (BPE). Elle a ensuite été embauchée par le PNUD pour l’administration du territoire de la capitale fédérale en tant qu’assistante du ministre pour la mise en œuvre du projet. Son impact important à ces postes a abouti à sa nomination au poste de cheffe de Cabinet du gouverneur exécutif de l’État de Kaduna, où elle a encore une fois été la première femme à ce poste dans cette partie du pays.

Hadiza était auparavant vice-présidente de la région africaine de l’Association internationale des ports et havres (IAPH). Dans ce rôle, elle a mené un plan de développement portuaire agressif sur 25 ans qui préparerait la NPA à l’avenir du secteur maritime mondiale.

Elle a reçu de nombreux prix dans les domaines de la gouvernance, de l’éducation des filles et de l’émancipation des femmes, et est également organisatrice de la campagne BringBackOurGirls. BringBackOurGirls est une campagne mondiale exigeant le sauvetage des 279 jeunes filles enlevées à l’école secondaire de Chibok le 15 avril 2014 dans l’État de Borno, au Nigeria.

Hadiza est une ancienne élève de l’Université Ahmadu Bello, Zaria, où elle a obtenu une licence en administration des affaires, et de l’Université de Leeds, où elle a obtenu un diplôme de troisième cycle en études du développement. Ses nombreuses distinctions incluent le fait d’avoir été nommée l’une des femmes les plus influentes de l’année par le Financial Times (2014) et l’une des femmes les plus inspirantes de l’année par CNN (2014).

Be the first to know what we’re up to.

General Inquiry

Amujae Initiative

Media Inquiry

Office Of The Founder

ELLEN JOHNSON SIRLEAF

Search
Close this search box.
hadiza-bala-usman-square

Hadiza Bala Usman

Managing Director of the Nigerian Ports Authority, Public Servant, Campaigner
Nigeria

Hadiza Bala Usman is the former managing director of the Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) and has spent many years serving her country in congress and numerous public service roles.

Before her appointment as the first female Managing Director of the NPA in its 63 years of existence, Hadiza worked at the Bureau of Public Enterprises (BPE). She was then hired by the UNDP for the Federal Capital Territory Administration as Assistant to the Minister on project implementation. Her wide-ranging impact in these positions culminated in her appointment as the Chief of Staff to the Executive Governor of Kaduna State, again, the first female to be so appointed in that part of the country.

Hadiza is Vice President of the African Region for the International Association of Ports and Harbors (IAPH). In this role she pursued an aggressive 25-year port development plan that would prepare the NPA for the future of the global maritime industry.

A recipient of many awards in the areas of governance, girl child education and women’s emancipation, she is also convener of the BringBackOurGirls Campaign. This is a global campaign demanding the rescue of the 279 young girls abducted from Chibok Secondary School on 15th April 2014 in Borno State, Nigeria.

Hadiza is an alumnus of Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria where she earned a bachelor’s degree (B.Sc.) in Business Administration, and of the University of Leeds where she obtained a post graduate degree in Development Studies. Her numerous accolades include being named one of the the Financial Times’ Most Influential Women of the Year (2014) and one of CNN’s Most Inspiring Women of the Year (2014).

General Inquiry

Amujae Initiative

Media Inquiry

Office Of The Founder